Sidenote: For some reasons, the pictures will not correctly. I am working on it:)

 

 ugly bananas.jpgdscn2283.jpg

 

It actually makes me sad to see rotten food in my fridge, it happens all the time. I buy way too many vegetables or fruits and I never get around to using them.  I waste so many bananas, I have the best intentions to bring a banana to work everyday but sometimes they get brown and I just cannot eat them. Instead, I had a eureka moment….I don’t have to throw them out, I could make banana bread!  Here is the basic recipe… you can add a few variations which I will also include below. This is so easy but still so good. Please excuse my horrible photos; I will make them better over time. 

Banana Bread (Gourmet 2003) 

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoons baking soda


1/2 teaspoon cinnamon


1/2 teaspoon salt


1 large egg 

1/3 cup of unsalted butter 

1 1/3 cups brown sugar

3 cups coarsely mashed very ripe bananas (6 large) 

1 teaspoons vanilla 

Extras

1 1/3 cups walnuts 

1 1/3 chocolate chips (Ok, I realize that this is a banana bread recipe and not chocolate bread but I can eat chocolate every single day so if you want….add some chocolate delight.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 and butter two pans ( or one if you choose to make one big loaf.)

Stir butter and mashed bananas in a bowl. Mix in egg, vanilla and sugar. Add the salt and baking soda to the bowl and mix. Add flour and make sure to mix it well. Pour the batter into the loaf pan.

Bake for 45 minutes. Once it looks done, cool on a rack and then eat it:)

